ICPC Auxiliary


The ICPC Auxiliary exists to encourage members through membership and communication to grow in faith, affirm their gifts, support one another in their calling, engage in ministry and action, and support the programs of The International Conference of Police Chaplains.

The Auxiliary Story


Growing Better Together

The dream of an Auxiliary came into being during the 1989 Sacramento ATS when the first Spouse Committee (consisting of Jan Congram, Lorraine Nelson, and Kay Freyer) was organized. It was a response to the concerns of the spouses to better meet the family needs of the ever-growing ATS of the ICPC.

The committee prepared bylaws and goals to be presented to the spouses at the 1990 ATS in Mobile, Alabama when the Auxiliary was officially organized. It became active on July 10, 1990, with 45 spouses in attendance.

We owe our fine program and organization to Margaret Price, who for years was there with a quiet nudge reminding the Board to think about the family as a whole. She was always there to help the Board remember their early goal of not allowing the ATS to divide the family, but to keep it family-friendly. 

We encourage families to attend the ATS each summer.  We pledge to continue providing exciting programs for spouses and their children and grandchildren.  We feel that the family is important and we hope to see more and more families returning each year!

2022-24 Auxiliary Executive Committee

  • President: Gwen Steiner
  • President-elect: Dawn Marie Omokunde
  • Vice President: Shari Gysel
  • Secretary: Kathy Transue
  • Treasurer: Renee Olthoff
  • Annual Conference Planning Coordinator: Brenda Pierce
  • Immediate Past President: Gail Johnson

Previous Presidents of the Auxiliary


ICPC offers its thanks to these individuals who have served as President of the ICPC Auxiliary.

  • 2020-2022 Gail Johnson
  • 2018-2020 Janice Carr
  • 2016-2018 Judy McMuarry
  • 2014-2016 Ronda Hendricks
  • 2012-2014 Karen McBride Dixon
  • 2010-2012 Donna Riddle
  • 2008-2010 Brenda Pierce
  • 2006-2008 Sharon Yarbrough
  • 2004-2006 Sue Lovin
  • 2002-2004 Roberta (Robbi) Bourne
  • 2000-2002 Wendy Hardgrove
  • 1998-2000 Cheryl Kosec
  • 1996-1998 Lola Schott
  • 1994-1996 Shirley Higgs
  • 1992-1994 Jan Congram
  • 1990-1992 Lorraine Nelson