ICPC Leadership Team


The current team of executive officers was elected at the ICPC Annual Conference in July 2023 and will serve a two-year term through July 2025. To contact a member of the leadership team, use the ICPC membership app or send an email message to the ICPC office.

James P. Bontrager


Jim Bontrager is a law enforcement instructor, specializing in resiliency, and has served as a full-time chaplain at the Elkhart Police Department (Elkhart, Indiana, USA) since 2004. 

Paul D. Ellis


A chaplain since 1978, Paul Ellis serves as a certified instructor in Critical Incident Stress Management and has been involved in a number of national disaster responses, Paul currently serves as a chaplain for the Casa Grande Police Department (Casa Grande, Arizona, USA).

Gary Welsh

Vice President

Gary Welsh is certified by ICPC as an instructor and serves as Pastor of the New Testament Church of God in Jamaica. Gary has served the Jamaica Constabulary Force (Kingston, Jamaica) as a chaplain since 1979. 

Richard Hartman


Richard Hartman lives in Fort Wayne, Indiana (USA), where he serves as the Pastor of Epiphany Lutheran Church and as an instructor in the Fort Wayne Police Academy. Richard has served as a chaplain at the Fort Wayne Police Department since 2011. 

Robert Heath

Treasurer and CFO

Bob Heath has been a member of ICPC for more than three decades and is certified as an ICPC instructor. Bob has served as a volunteer chaplain with the Joplin Police Department (Missouri, USA) since 1991. 

Ronald J. White

Immediate Past President

Ronald J. White began service as a police chaplain in 1995 and has served the Chicago Heights Police Department (Illinois, USA) since 2000. He has been a member of ICPC since 2000, where he is certified as an instructor and has served in every area of leadership. 

Regional Directors


  • Region 1 (Canada): Chaplain Bruce Ewanyshyn 
  • Region 2 (Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, Washington, and Wyoming): Darryl Russell
  • Region 3 (Iowa, Minnesota, Nebraska, North Dakota, and South Dakota): Chaplain Kevin Norton
  • Region 4 (Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, Ohio, West Virginia, and Wisconsin): Chaplain Robert Vester
  • Region 5 (Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Maine, Massachusetts, Maryland, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, and Vermont): Chaplain Debra Grow
  • Region 6 (Arizona, California, Colorado, New Mexico, Nevada, and Utah): Chaplain J. Wayne Chaisson
  • Region 7 (Arkansas, Kansas, Louisiana, Oklahoma, Missouri, and Texas): Chaplain Mike Hardgrove
  • Region 8 (Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, and Virginia): Chaplain Glenn Davenport
  • Region 9 (Hawaii, Australia, New Zealand, and the Pacific Area): Chaplain Keoki Awai
  • Region 10 (Europe): Vacant
  • Region 11 (Africa): Chaplain Mabvuto Fitta Chipeta
  • Region 12 (Caribbean, Central America, and South America): Chaplain Lenford Newell

Previous ICPC Presidents


We offer our thanks to these individuals who have served as ICPC President.

  • 1973-1977 R. Joseph Dooley
  • 1977-1979 John A. Price
  • 1979-1981 Donald Jacobs
  • 1981-1983 Charles E. Massey
  • 1983-1985 James F. Wieging
  • 1985-1987 Dennis Whitaker
  • 1987-1989 Wilbert A. Cunningham
  • 1989-1991 Harvey Chiles III
  • 1991-1993 Charles Boorman
  • 1993-1995 William Andrews
  • 1995-1997 Jack Poe
  • 1997-1999 Mark G. O'Sullivan
  • 1999-2001 Michael H. Dunnill
  • 2001-2003 Dan V. Nolta
  • 2003-2005 Walter J. Schott
  • 2005-2007 Craig R. Hungler
  • 2007-2009 Wes McDuffie
  • 2009-2011 Cyndee Thomas
  • 2011-2013 Keoki Awai
  • 2013-2015 Mike Hardgrove
  • 2015-2017 Mark D. Clements
  • 2017-2019 Mark Bardsley
  • 2019-2021 Pam Neal
  • 2021-2023 Ronald J. White